The Passage – Justin Cronin

1 Jun

“Every so often a novel-reader’s novel comes along: an enthralling, entertaining story wedded to simple, supple prose, both informed by tremendous imagination. Summer is the perfect time for such books, and this year readers can enjoy the gift of Justin Cronin’s The Passage. Read fifteen pages and you will find yourself captivated; read thirty and you will find yourself taken prisoner and reading late into the night. It has the vividness that only epic works of fantasy and imagination can achieve. What else can I say? This: read this book and the ordinary world disappears.”
—Stephen King

…And that was all it took. My very favorite author promised me everything I had ever asked for in a book.

The official release date for this highly anticipated novel is June 8th, just a week away. I was lucky enough to receive an ARC copy from a Random House giveaway (seriously, it was like winning the lottery). I could hardly wait the bury my nose in it and be swept away.

I was not disappointed. The Passage delivered everything promised, and more. There are a lot of similarities to Stephen King’s work (not the least of which is that the 766 page beast could double as a doorstop in a pinch), but I was pleased to find flair and originality. Cronin is a true story-teller. The flow, the cadence of sentences, and the voice of the narrative captivates. Most of the characters were real enough to haunt me well after I’d closed the book and turned over to sleep.

I do fear the sheer length of the book will dissuade the casual reader from even making an attempt, and that is truly a shame. I hope the book generates enough interest – dare I say hype? – to overcome this. It really is a worthwhile read for anyone who enjoys a good horror story or post-apocalyptic fable.

For more info: Enter the Passage

To Pre-Order: Amazon

Leave a Reply

